Govt honours 16 largest taxpayers


KATHMANDU, NOVEMBER 23: Minister for Finance Dr. Prakash Saran Mahat has today honored Vijay Kumar Shah as the highest taxpaying person for the last fiscal year 2022/23.

Chairman of Jawalakhel Group of Industries, Shah was honoured amidst the conclusion of a week-long program held in the capital by the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) to mark National Tax Day 2023.

Similarly, Surya Nepal received recognition as the company paying the largest amount of tax. Nepal Telecom Company Limited (Nepal Telecom) was honoured for paying the highest income tax and Dabur Nepal Pvt Ltd for being the highest taxpayer among the industries.  Asian Paints was recognised as the company making he highest contributions to the export trade.

In the same vein, Global IME Bank got recognised as the highest taxpaying bank, while ALAIC Nepal was awarded with the title of the highest taxpayer in the insurance sector.  Chhimek Laghubitta Bittiya Sansthan was honored as the highest taxpaying microfinance institution whereas OBC Feed and Feeds Pvt Ltd was the highest taxpayer among the agricultural firms.

On the tourism front, Manakamana Cable Car walked with the honour of the highest taxpayer while Bhatbhateni Super Market was adjudged as the highest taxpayer in the commodity trading section.

The title of the highest pax-paying educational institute was bagged by the Nobel Teaching Hospital. The Nepal Stock Exchange Limited (NEPSE), Bhotekoshi Energy Company and IME Remittance for remittances were honoured for paying the highest tax in respective fields.

The government this time honored individuals and organizations under 16 different categories.